SECTION .0600 - MINIMUM STANDARDS OF TRAINING FOR DETENTION OFFICERS
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DETENTION OFFICER CERTIFICATION COURSE

(a)  This Section establishes the current standard by which Sheriffs' Office and district confinement personnel shall receive detention officer training. The Detention Officer Certification Course shall consist of a minimum of 174 hours of instruction designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge necessary to perform those tasks considered essential to the administration and operation of a confinement facility.

(b)  Each Detention Officer Certification Course shall include the following identified topic areas and minimum instructional hours for each area:

(1)
LEGAL UNIT

(A)
Orientation






3 hours

(B)
Criminal Justice Systems





2 hours

(C)
Legal Aspects of Management and Supervision


14 hours

(D)
Introduction to Rules and Regulations



2 hours

(E)
Ethics







3 hours

UNIT TOTAL







24 Hours

(2)
PHYSICAL UNIT

(A)
Contraband/Searches





6 hours

(B)
Patrol and Security Function of the Jail



5 hours

(C)
Key and Tool Control





2 hours

(D)
Investigative Process in the Jail




8 hours

(E)
Transportation of Inmates





7 hours

(F)
Prison Rape Elimination Act




2 hours

UNIT TOTAL







30 Hours

(3)
PRACTICAL APPLICATION UNIT

(A)
Processing Inmates





8 hours

(B)
Supervision and Management of Inmates



5 hours

(C)
Suicides and Crisis Management




5 hours

(D)
Aspects of Mental Illness





6 hours

(E)
Fire Emergencies






4 hours

(F)
Notetaking and Report Writing




6 hours

(G)
Communication Skills





5 hours

UNIT TOTAL







39 hours

(4)
MEDICAL UNIT

(A)
First Aid and CPR





8 hours

(B)
Medical Care in the Jail





6 hours

(C)
Stress







3 hours

(D)
Subject Control Techniques




32 hours

(E)
Physical Fitness for Detention Officers



22 hours

UNIT TOTAL







71 hours

(5)
REVIEW AND TESTING






7 hours

(6)
STATE EXAM







3 hours

TOTAL HOURS







174 HOURS

(c)  Consistent with the curriculum development policy of the Commission as published in the "Detention Officer Certification Course Management Guide," the Commission shall designate the developer of the Detention Officer Certification Course curricula and such designation shall be deemed by the Commission as approval for the developer to conduct pilot Detention Officer Certification Courses. Individuals who complete such a pilot Detention Officer Certification Course offering shall be deemed to have complied with and satisfied the minimum training requirement.

(d)  The "Detention Officer Certification Training Manual" published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be used as the basic curriculum for the Detention Officer Certification Course. Copies of this manual may be obtained by contacting the North Carolina Justice Academy, Post Office Box 99, Salemburg, North Carolina 28385-0099. The cost of this manual, CD, indexes and binder is fifty-one dollars and seventy-five cents ($51.75) at the time this Rule was last amended.

(e)  The "Detention Officer Certification Course Management Guide" published by the North Carolina Justice Academy is hereby incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and editions, and shall be used by school directors in planning, implementing, and delivering basic detention officer training. The standards and requirements established by the "Detention Officer Certification Course Management Guide" shall be adhered to by the school director. The Justice Academy shall issue to each certified school director a copy of the guide at the time of certification at no cost to the certified school.

History Note:
Authority G.S. 17E-4(a);

Eff. January 1, 1989;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2016; February 1, 2014; August 1, 2011; October 1, 2009; January 1, 2006; August 2, 2002; August 1, 2000; August 1, 1998; February 1, 1998; January 1, 1996; June 1, 1992; January 1, 1992; January 1, 1991;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018.
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